How we are different

University of Khartoum Pioneers

University of Khartoum (shortened to UofK) (Arabic: is a multi-campus, co-educational, public university located in Khartoum. It is the largest and oldest university in Sudan. UofK was founded as Gordon Memorial College in 1902 and established in 1956 when Sudan gained independence.

Prof. Abdullah al-Tayeb

Abdullah al-Tayeb

Abdalla Eltayeb (2 June 1921 – 19 June 2003) was a prominent Sudanese scholar of the Arabic language.[1] He was born in the village of Temirab west of Damer City. He received his primary education in the cities of Kasala, Damer and Barbr, graduated from Gordon Memorial College (now known as University of Khartoum), and received his PhD from School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London in 1950.

Khalida Zahir

graduated as the first Sudanese female doctor in 1952

In 1898 after Britain gained dominance in Sudan as part of a condominium arrangement, Lord Kitchener proposed founding a college in the memory of Gordon of Khartoum, who was killed in the Battle of Khartoum. Gordon Memorial College was founded in 1902 with primary education being its sole program.

Prof. Mohamed Hamad Satti

Professor of Medical Zoology

Prof. Mohamed Hamad Satti Professor of Medical Zoology

University of Khartoum

uofk Pioneers